compat: Backport eth_mac_addr
authorHauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Sat, 26 Dec 2009 21:44:35 +0000 (22:44 +0100)
committerLuis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
Tue, 29 Dec 2009 01:32:15 +0000 (17:32 -0800)
eth_mac_addr is needed by net/mac80211/iface.c

Signed-off-by: Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
compat/compat-2.6.29.c
include/linux/compat-2.6.29.h

index 669ad35..ea2a991 100644 (file)
@@ -13,6 +13,7 @@
 #if (LINUX_VERSION_CODE < KERNEL_VERSION(2,6,29))
 
 #include <linux/usb.h>
+#include <linux/etherdevice.h>
 
 /**
  * usb_unpoison_anchored_urbs - let an anchor be used successfully again
@@ -35,6 +36,29 @@ void usb_unpoison_anchored_urbs(struct usb_anchor *anchor)
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(usb_unpoison_anchored_urbs);
 
+/**
+ * eth_mac_addr - set new Ethernet hardware address
+ * @dev: network device
+ * @p: socket address
+ * Change hardware address of device.
+ *
+ * This doesn't change hardware matching, so needs to be overridden
+ * for most real devices.
+ */
+int eth_mac_addr(struct net_device *dev, void *p)
+{
+       struct sockaddr *addr = p;
+
+       if (netif_running(dev))
+               return -EBUSY;
+       if (!is_valid_ether_addr(addr->sa_data))
+               return -EADDRNOTAVAIL;
+       memcpy(dev->dev_addr, addr->sa_data, ETH_ALEN);
+       return 0;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(eth_mac_addr);
+/* Source: net/ethernet/eth.c */
+
 
 #endif /* LINUX_VERSION_CODE < KERNEL_VERSION(2,6,29) */
 
index cad5e6b..b31a58c 100644 (file)
@@ -56,6 +56,8 @@ extern void usb_unpoison_anchored_urbs(struct usb_anchor *anchor);
 }                                                      \
 )
 
+extern int eth_mac_addr(struct net_device *dev, void *p);
+
 #endif /* (LINUX_VERSION_CODE < KERNEL_VERSION(2,6,29)) */
 
 #endif /*  LINUX_26_29_COMPAT_H */