]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
mempolicy: fix a memory corruption by refcount imbalance in alloc_pages_vma()
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Mon, 8 Oct 2012 23:29:20 +0000 (16:29 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 9 Oct 2012 07:22:22 +0000 (16:22 +0900)
commit00442ad04a5eac08a98255697c510e708f6082e2
treeab786c94befbda536fbcf76b196358309044d2a0
parent63f74ca21f1fad36d075e063f06dcc6d39fe86b2
mempolicy: fix a memory corruption by refcount imbalance in alloc_pages_vma()

Commit cc9a6c877661 ("cpuset: mm: reduce large amounts of memory barrier
related damage v3") introduced a potential memory corruption.
shmem_alloc_page() uses a pseudo vma and it has one significant unique
combination, vma->vm_ops=NULL and vma->policy->flags & MPOL_F_SHARED.

get_vma_policy() does NOT increase a policy ref when vma->vm_ops=NULL
and mpol_cond_put() DOES decrease a policy ref when a policy has
MPOL_F_SHARED.  Therefore, when a cpuset update race occurs,
alloc_pages_vma() falls in 'goto retry_cpuset' path, decrements the
reference count and frees the policy prematurely.

Signed-off-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/mempolicy.c