]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
ALSA: hda - Reset sample sizes and max bitrates when reading ELD
authorAnssi Hannula <anssi.hannula@iki.fi>
Tue, 7 Dec 2010 19:19:23 +0000 (21:19 +0200)
committerTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Wed, 8 Dec 2010 07:36:20 +0000 (08:36 +0100)
commit0bbaee3a58c379c4f7bab9635c71d7bad9c422a2
tree143b422842c08ce1deb32fc78529924a24b26823
parent3dc86429032910bdf762adeb2969112bb303924c
ALSA: hda - Reset sample sizes and max bitrates when reading ELD

When a new HDMI/DP device is plugged in, hdmi_update_short_audio_desc()
is called for every SAD (Short Audio Descriptor) in the ELD data. For
LPCM coding type SAD defines the supported sample sizes. For several
other coding types (such as AC-3), a maximum bitrate is defined.

The maximum bitrate and sample size fields are not always cleared.
Therefore, if a device is unplugged and a different one is plugged in,
and the coding types of some SAD positions differ between the devices,
the old max_bitrate or sample_bits values will persist if the new SADs
do not define those values.

The leftover max_bitrate and sample_bits do not cause any issues other
than wrongly showing up in eld#X.Y procfs file and kernel log.

Fix that by always clearing sample_bits and max_bitrate when reading
SADs.

Signed-off-by: Anssi Hannula <anssi.hannula@iki.fi>
Signed-off-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
sound/pci/hda/hda_eld.c