]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
x86, pat: Allow ISA memory range uncacheable mapping requests
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Mon, 17 Aug 2009 20:23:50 +0000 (13:23 -0700)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Mon, 17 Aug 2009 21:12:44 +0000 (14:12 -0700)
commit1adcaafe7414c5731f758b158aa0525057225deb
treed4e1b96fea899a3adf376fc3590263954fbecdbb
parente412cd257e0d51e0ecbb89f50953835b5a0681b2
x86, pat: Allow ISA memory range uncacheable mapping requests

Max Vozeler reported:
>  Bug 13877 -  bogl-term broken with CONFIG_X86_PAT=y, works with =n
>
>  strace of bogl-term:
>  814   mmap2(NULL, 65536, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, 4, 0)
>  = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable)
>  814   write(2, "bogl: mmaping /dev/fb0: Resource temporarily unavailable\n",
>        57) = 57

PAT code maps the ISA memory range as WB in the PAT attribute, so that
fixed range MTRR registers define the actual memory type (UC/WC/WT etc).

But the upper level is_new_memtype_allowed() API checks are failing,
as the request here is for UC and the return tracked type is WB (Tracked type is
WB as MTRR type for this legacy range potentially will be different for each
4k page).

Fix is_new_memtype_allowed() by always succeeding the ISA address range
checks, as the null PAT (WB) and def MTRR fixed range register settings
satisfy the memory type needs of the applications that map the ISA address
range.

Reported-and-Tested-by: Max Vozeler <xam@debian.org>
Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
arch/x86/mm/pat.c