]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
slub: Commonize slab_cache field in struct page
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Mon, 22 Oct 2012 14:05:36 +0000 (18:05 +0400)
committerPekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Wed, 24 Oct 2012 08:58:03 +0000 (11:58 +0300)
commit1b4f59e356cc94929305bd107b7f38eec62715ad
treede809be913f6491a61dcac6dabbf2cb0a1012b45
parentb4f591c45f1de0f5b8ad8da508a892b571a53202
slub: Commonize slab_cache field in struct page

Right now, slab and slub have fields in struct page to derive which
cache a page belongs to, but they do it slightly differently.

slab uses a field called slab_cache, that lives in the third double
word. slub, uses a field called "slab", living outside of the
doublewords area.

Ideally, we could use the same field for this. Since slub heavily makes
use of the doubleword region, there isn't really much room to move
slub's slab_cache field around. Since slab does not have such strict
placement restrictions, we can move it outside the doubleword area.

The naming used by slab, "slab_cache", is less confusing, and it is
preferred over slub's generic "slab".

Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Acked-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
CC: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
include/linux/mm_types.h
mm/slub.c