]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Makefile: Documentation for external tool should be correct
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 24 Oct 2012 21:11:48 +0000 (14:11 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 25 Oct 2012 23:00:53 +0000 (16:00 -0700)
commit2008713c7174e5c0f207bac684c6df0939047009
tree0442715e0de7522c33e9f4bc413e32b9fc6202a5
parent6bb1e3819c08d640bc7e64fc522d7d8b1bc4d0b9
Makefile: Documentation for external tool should be correct

If one includes documentation for an external tool, it should be
correct.  This is not:

1. Overriding the input to rngd should typically be neither
   necessary nor desired.  This is especially so since newer
   versions of rngd support a number of different *types* of sources.
2. The default kernel-exported device is called /dev/hwrng not
   /dev/hwrandom nor /dev/hw_random (both of which were used in the
   past; however, kernel and udev seem to have converged on
   /dev/hwrng.)

Overall it is better if the documentation for rngd is kept with rngd
rather than in a kernel Makefile.

Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
kernel/Makefile