]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
x86_64: fake pxm-to-node mapping for fake numa
authorDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Sat, 21 Jul 2007 15:10:32 +0000 (17:10 +0200)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Sun, 22 Jul 2007 01:37:10 +0000 (18:37 -0700)
commit3484d79813707bb6045773953a809abba443dc20
treea986c674698face8fc51132a1feeac53fa7946a2
parent3af044e0f832cfa3fcdce14dc30678b79dd36995
x86_64: fake pxm-to-node mapping for fake numa

For NUMA emulation, our SLIT should represent the true NUMA topology of the
system but our proximity domain to node ID mapping needs to reflect the
emulated state.

When NUMA emulation has successfully setup fake nodes on the system, a new
function, acpi_fake_nodes() is called.  This function determines the proximity
domain (_PXM) for each true node found on the system.  It then finds which
emulated nodes have been allocated on this true node as determined by its
starting address.  The node ID to PXM mapping is changed so that each fake
node ID points to the PXM of the true node that it is located on.

If the machine failed to register a SLIT, then we assume there is no special
requirement for emulated node affinity so we use the default LOCAL_DISTANCE,
which is newly exported to this code, as our measurement if the emulated nodes
appear in the same PXM.  Otherwise, we use REMOTE_DISTANCE.

PXM_INVAL and NID_INVAL are also exported to the ACPI header file so that we
can compare node_to_pxm() results in generic code (in this case, the SRAT
code).

Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/x86_64/mm/numa.c
arch/x86_64/mm/srat.c
drivers/acpi/numa.c
include/acpi/acpi_numa.h
include/asm-x86_64/acpi.h
include/linux/acpi.h