]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
mm: don't use alloc_bootmem_low() where not strictly needed
authorJan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 00:03:06 +0000 (17:03 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 14:17:38 +0000 (07:17 -0700)
commit3c1596efe167322dae87f8390d36f91ce2d7f936
treeb086435695f71312e79986a28a703a23760066ec
parent4481374ce88ba8f460c8b89f2572027bd27057d0
mm: don't use alloc_bootmem_low() where not strictly needed

Since alloc_bootmem() will never return inaccessible (via virtual
addressing) memory anyway, using the ..._low() variant only makes sense
when the physical address range of the allocated memory must fulfill
further constraints, espacially since on 64-bits (or more generally in all
cases where the pools the two variants allocate from are than the full
available range.

Probably the use in alloc_tce_table() could also be eliminated (based on
code inspection of pci-calgary_64.c), but that seems too risky given I
know nothing about that hardware and have no way to test it.

Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
arch/x86/mm/init_32.c
drivers/firmware/memmap.c
kernel/power/snapshot.c