]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Input: fix use-after-free introduced with dynamic minor changes
authorDmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Mon, 22 Oct 2012 00:57:20 +0000 (17:57 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 22 Oct 2012 05:50:37 +0000 (08:50 +0300)
commit4a215aade0baa0487d4644d7aef6f166c84c516e
tree3cf126e431235d21fdf565e2d39089397680e803
parent2f0157f13f42800aa3d9017ebb0fb80a65f7b2de
Input: fix use-after-free introduced with dynamic minor changes

Commit 7f8d4cad1e4e ("Input: extend the number of event (and other)
devices") made evdev, joydev and mousedev to embed struct cdev into
their respective structures representing input devices.

Unfortunately character device structure may outlive the parent
structure unless we do not set it up as parent of character device so
that it will stay pinned until character device is freed.

Also, now that parent structure is pinned while character device exists
we do not need to pin and unpin it every time user opens or closes it.

Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/input/evdev.c
drivers/input/joydev.c
drivers/input/mousedev.c