]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
x86: avoid E820 regions when allocating address space
authorBjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
Thu, 16 Dec 2010 17:38:56 +0000 (10:38 -0700)
committerJesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
Fri, 17 Dec 2010 18:01:24 +0000 (10:01 -0800)
commit4dc2287c1805e7fe8a7cb90bbcd44abee8cdb914
tree6ed67b382f15b16a9c9d7aca411fc7c13f2918b1
parent30919b0bf356a8ee0ef4f7d38ca8ad99b96820b2
x86: avoid E820 regions when allocating address space

When we allocate address space, e.g., to assign it to a PCI device, don't
allocate anything mentioned in the BIOS E820 memory map.

On recent machines (2008 and newer), we assign PCI resources from the
windows described by the ACPI PCI host bridge _CRS.  On many Dell
machines, these windows overlap some E820 reserved areas, e.g.,

    BIOS-e820: 00000000bfe4dc00 - 00000000c0000000 (reserved)
    pci_root PNP0A03:00: host bridge window [mem 0xbff00000-0xdfffffff]

If we put devices at 0xbff00000, they don't work, probably because
that's really RAM, not I/O memory.  This patch prevents that by removing
the 0xbfe4dc00-0xbfffffff area from the "available" resource.

I'm not very happy with this solution because Windows solves the problem
differently (it seems to ignore E820 reserved areas and it allocates
top-down instead of bottom-up; details at comment 45 of the bugzilla
below).  That means we're vulnerable to BIOS defects that Windows would not
trip over.  For example, if BIOS described a device in ACPI but didn't
mention it in E820, Windows would work fine but Linux would fail.

Reference: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=16228
Acked-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
arch/x86/kernel/resource.c