]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
memcg: fix bad behavior in use_hierarchy file
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Tue, 31 Jul 2012 23:43:07 +0000 (16:43 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 1 Aug 2012 01:42:43 +0000 (18:42 -0700)
commit567fb435bb7a37afda35902b884562c40756dc45
tree71c4cec3ab02bd69eafbfd98d38774466d52843e
parentca28ddc908fcfef0e5c1b6e5df632db7fc26de10
memcg: fix bad behavior in use_hierarchy file

I have an application that does the following:

* copy the state of all controllers attached to a hierarchy
* replicate it as a child of the current level.

I would expect writes to the files to mostly succeed, since they are
inheriting sane values from parents.

But that is not the case for use_hierarchy.  If it is set to 0, we succeed
ok.  If we're set to 1, the value of the file is automatically set to 1 in
the children, but if userspace tries to write the very same 1, it will
fail.  That same situation happens if we set use_hierarchy, create a
child, and then try to write 1 again.

Now, there is no reason whatsoever for failing to write a value that is
already there.  It doesn't even match the comments, that states:

 /* If parent's use_hierarchy is set, we can't make any modifications
  * in the child subtrees...

since we are not changing anything.

So test the new value against the one we're storing, and automatically
return 0 if we're not proposing a change.

Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Cc: Dhaval Giani <dhaval.giani@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Kamezawa Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memcontrol.c