]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
x86, pat: fix reserve_memtype() for legacy 1MB range
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Fri, 9 Jan 2009 22:35:20 +0000 (14:35 -0800)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 14 Jan 2009 19:14:45 +0000 (20:14 +0100)
commit5cca0cf15a94417f49625ce52e23589eed0a1675
tree7047e24743be2649ce6ebb1e808ebd953f85364e
parentc8399943bdb70fef78798b97f975506ecc99e039
x86, pat: fix reserve_memtype() for legacy 1MB range

Thierry Vignaud reported:
> http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12372
>
> On P4 with an SiS motherboard (video card is a SiS 651)
> X server fails to start with error:
> xf86MapVidMem: Could not mmap framebuffer (0x00000000,0x2000) (Invalid
> argument)

Here X is trying to map first 8KB of memory using /dev/mem. Existing
code treats first 0-4KB of memory as non-RAM and 4KB-8KB as RAM. Recent
code changes don't allow to map memory with different attributes
at the same time.

Fix this by treating the first 1MB legacy region as special and always
track the attribute requests with in this region using linear linked
list (and don't bother if the range is RAM or non-RAM or mixed)

Reported-and-tested-by: Thierry Vignaud <tvignaud@mandriva.com>
Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/mm/pat.c