]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
ipv4: do not cache looped multicasts
authorJulian Anastasov <ja@ssi.bg>
Thu, 22 Nov 2012 21:04:14 +0000 (23:04 +0200)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Thu, 22 Nov 2012 21:06:49 +0000 (16:06 -0500)
commit636174219b52b5a8bc51bc23bbcba97cd30a65e3
treec2409e04422664285fe2a6774885d3d049d5d540
parent84ec95b047d2d02552f07c06d9d6da8b61532090
ipv4: do not cache looped multicasts

Starting from 3.6 we cache output routes for
multicasts only when using route to 224/4. For local receivers
we can set RTCF_LOCAL flag depending on the membership but
in such case we use maddr and saddr which are not caching
keys as before. Additionally, we can not use same place to
cache routes that differ in RTCF_LOCAL flag value.

Fix it by caching only RTCF_MULTICAST entries
without RTCF_LOCAL (send-only, no loopback). As a side effect,
we avoid unneeded lookup for fnhe when not caching because
multicasts are not redirected and they do not learn PMTU.

Thanks to Maxime Bizon for showing the caching
problems in __mkroute_output for 3.6 kernels: different
RTCF_LOCAL flag in cache can lead to wrong ip_mc_output or
ip_output call and the visible problem is that traffic can
not reach local receivers via loopback.

Reported-by: Maxime Bizon <mbizon@freebox.fr>
Tested-by: Maxime Bizon <mbizon@freebox.fr>
Signed-off-by: Julian Anastasov <ja@ssi.bg>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
net/ipv4/route.c