]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
ext3: Update Kconfig description of EXT3_DEFAULTS_TO_ORDERED
authorTheodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Mon, 10 Aug 2009 20:03:43 +0000 (16:03 -0400)
committerJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Mon, 24 Aug 2009 14:48:32 +0000 (16:48 +0200)
commit6d41807614151829ae17a3a58bff8572af5e407e
tree8d507b9ed679e2a42f9e1c8f4e7ba5a958360ea2
parentf4b9a988685da6386d7f9a72df3098bcc3270526
ext3: Update Kconfig description of EXT3_DEFAULTS_TO_ORDERED

The old description for this configuration option was perhaps not
completely balanced in terms of describing the tradeoffs of using a
default of data=writeback vs. data=ordered.  Despite the fact that old
description very strongly recomended disabling this feature, all of
the major distributions have elected to preserve the existing 'legacy'
default, which is a strong hint that it perhaps wasn't telling the
whole story.

This revised description has been vetted by a number of ext3
developers as being better at informing the user about the tradeoffs
of enabling or disabling this configuration feature.

Cc: linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
fs/ext3/Kconfig