]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Staging: zram: work around oops due to startup ordering snafu
authorAnton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Fri, 1 Oct 2010 21:19:55 +0000 (14:19 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Tue, 5 Oct 2010 18:44:29 +0000 (11:44 -0700)
commit7e24cce38a99f373450db67bf576fe73e8168d66
treeba350de995e2a5bff7bc8e42ec4701734eefdf2e
parente80302977017e5cbb12fdf843e5a070ad5d11e3a
Staging: zram: work around oops due to startup ordering snafu

I'm getting an oops when running mkfs on zram:

NIP [d0000000030e0340] .zram_inc_stat+0x58/0x84 [zram]
[c00000006d58f720] [d0000000030e091c] .zram_make_request+0xa8/0x6a0 [zram]
[c00000006d58f840] [c00000000035795c] .generic_make_request+0x390/0x434
[c00000006d58f950] [c000000000357b14] .submit_bio+0x114/0x140
[c00000006d58fa20] [c000000000361778] .blkdev_issue_discard+0x1ac/0x250
[c00000006d58fb10] [c000000000361f68] .blkdev_ioctl+0x358/0x7fc
[c00000006d58fbd0] [c0000000001c1c1c] .block_ioctl+0x6c/0x90
[c00000006d58fc70] [c0000000001984c4] .do_vfs_ioctl+0x660/0x6d4
[c00000006d58fd70] [c0000000001985a0] .SyS_ioctl+0x68/0xb0

Since disksize no longer starts as 0 it looks like we can call
zram_make_request before the device has been initialised. The patch below
fixes the immediate problem but this would go away if we move the
initialisation function elsewhere (as suggested in another thread).

Signed-off-by: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
drivers/staging/zram/zram_drv.c