]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
mm: fix-up zone present pages
authorJianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com>
Mon, 8 Oct 2012 23:33:06 +0000 (16:33 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 9 Oct 2012 07:22:54 +0000 (16:22 +0900)
commit7f1290f2f2a4d2c3f1b7ce8e87256e052ca23125
tree10328fcb468647ba678e022911d5c2005080f309
parent05106e6a54aed321191b4bb5c9ee09538cbad3b1
mm: fix-up zone present pages

I think zone->present_pages indicates pages that buddy system can management,
it should be:

zone->present_pages = spanned pages - absent pages - bootmem pages,

but is now:
zone->present_pages = spanned pages - absent pages - memmap pages.

spanned pages: total size, including holes.
absent pages: holes.
bootmem pages: pages used in system boot, managed by bootmem allocator.
memmap pages: pages used by page structs.

This may cause zone->present_pages less than it should be.  For example,
numa node 1 has ZONE_NORMAL and ZONE_MOVABLE, it's memmap and other
bootmem will be allocated from ZONE_MOVABLE, so ZONE_NORMAL's
present_pages should be spanned pages - absent pages, but now it also
minus memmap pages(free_area_init_core), which are actually allocated from
ZONE_MOVABLE.  When offlining all memory of a zone, this will cause
zone->present_pages less than 0, because present_pages is unsigned long
type, it is actually a very large integer, it indirectly caused
zone->watermark[WMARK_MIN] becomes a large
integer(setup_per_zone_wmarks()), than cause totalreserve_pages become a
large integer(calculate_totalreserve_pages()), and finally cause memory
allocating failure when fork process(__vm_enough_memory()).

[root@localhost ~]# dmesg
-bash: fork: Cannot allocate memory

I think the bug described in

  http://marc.info/?l=linux-mm&m=134502182714186&w=2

is also caused by wrong zone present pages.

This patch intends to fix-up zone->present_pages when memory are freed to
buddy system on x86_64 and IA64 platforms.

Signed-off-by: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Reported-by: Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@suse.cz>
Tested-by: Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@suse.cz>
Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/ia64/mm/init.c
include/linux/mm.h
mm/bootmem.c
mm/memory_hotplug.c
mm/nobootmem.c
mm/page_alloc.c