]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
x86: Increase MIN_GAP to include randomized stack
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Tue, 8 Sep 2009 09:01:55 +0000 (11:01 +0200)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Fri, 11 Sep 2009 00:00:12 +0000 (17:00 -0700)
commit80938332d8cf652f6b16e0788cf0ca136befe0b5
treeb3a6ae2f25ff96416a67eecafd78a7407e5879ec
parent7135a71b19be1faf48b7148d77844d03bc0717d6
x86: Increase MIN_GAP to include randomized stack

Currently we are not including randomized stack size when calculating
mmap_base address in arch_pick_mmap_layout for topdown case. This might
cause that mmap_base starts in the stack reserved area because stack is
randomized by 1GB for 64b (8MB for 32b) and the minimum gap is 128MB.

If the stack really grows down to mmap_base then we can get silent mmap
region overwrite by the stack values.

Let's include maximum stack randomization size into MIN_GAP which is
used as the low bound for the gap in mmap.

Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
LKML-Reference: <1252400515-6866-1-git-send-email-mhocko@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Stable Team <stable@kernel.org>
arch/x86/include/asm/elf.h
arch/x86/mm/mmap.c