]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
mm: fix SHM_HUGETLB to work with users in hugetlb_shm_group
authorRavikiran G Thirumalai <kiran@scalex86.org>
Tue, 31 Mar 2009 22:19:40 +0000 (15:19 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 1 Apr 2009 15:59:12 +0000 (08:59 -0700)
commit8a0bdec194c21c8fdef840989d0d7b742bb5d4bc
tree0185e4cfa29f18a2f7b9d297e049a1de5314d0ec
parente3a7cca1ef4c1af9b0acef9bd66eff6582a737b5
mm: fix SHM_HUGETLB to work with users in hugetlb_shm_group

Fix hugetlb subsystem so that non root users belonging to
hugetlb_shm_group can actually allocate hugetlb backed shm.

Currently non root users cannot even map one large page using SHM_HUGETLB
when they belong to the gid in /proc/sys/vm/hugetlb_shm_group.  This is
because allocation size is verified against RLIMIT_MEMLOCK resource limit
even if the user belongs to hugetlb_shm_group.

This patch
1. Fixes hugetlb subsystem so that users with CAP_IPC_LOCK and users
   belonging to hugetlb_shm_group don't need to be restricted with
   RLIMIT_MEMLOCK resource limits
2. This patch also disables mlock based rlimit checking (which will
   be reinstated and marked deprecated in a subsequent patch).

Signed-off-by: Ravikiran Thirumalai <kiran@scalex86.org>
Reviewed-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
Cc: Adam Litke <agl@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c