]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Don't limit non-nested epoll paths
authorJason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Fri, 16 Mar 2012 20:34:03 +0000 (16:34 -0400)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sun, 18 Mar 2012 19:25:04 +0000 (12:25 -0700)
commit93dc6107a76daed81c07f50215fa6ae77691634f
treeb104aeb2798f60f06fd9f7abda5ae9ef5219e0bb
parentc579bc7e316e7e3f3b56df5e17f623325caa9783
Don't limit non-nested epoll paths

Commit 28d82dc1c4ed ("epoll: limit paths") that I did to limit the
number of possible wakeup paths in epoll is causing a few applications
to longer work (dovecot for one).

The original patch is really about limiting the amount of epoll nesting
(since epoll fds can be attached to other fds). Thus, we probably can
allow an unlimited number of paths of depth 1. My current patch limits
it at 1000. And enforce the limits on paths that have a greater depth.

This is captured in: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=681578

Signed-off-by: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/eventpoll.c