]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
platform / ACPI: Attach/detach ACPI PM during probe/remove/shutdown
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Mon, 26 Nov 2012 09:04:53 +0000 (10:04 +0100)
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Tue, 27 Nov 2012 12:44:45 +0000 (13:44 +0100)
commit94d76d5de38d7502c3e78fcd6bf50da95e3e0361
tree855aec097310ea4e59ef843d748d8e87e4eeac21
parent45c36462aef0cccadb7755ea4edc78d13334a2be
platform / ACPI: Attach/detach ACPI PM during probe/remove/shutdown

Drivers usually expect that the devices they are supposed to handle
will be operational when their .probe() routines are called, but that
need not be the case on some ACPI-based systems with ACPI-based
device enumeration where the BIOSes don't put devices into D0 by
default.  To work around this problem it is sufficient to change
bus type .probe() routines to ensure that devices will be powered
on before the drivers' .probe() routines run (and their .remove()
and .shutdown() routines accordingly).

Modify platform_drv_probe() to run acpi_dev_pm_attach() for devices
whose ACPI handles are present, so that ACPI power management is used
to change their power states.  Analogously, modify
platform_drv_remove() and platform_drv_shutdown() to call
acpi_dev_pm_detach() for those devices, so that they are not subject
to ACPI PM any more.

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Reviewed-by: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>
Tested-by: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>
drivers/base/platform.c