]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Add rcu user eqs exception hooks for async page fault
authorLi Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Tue, 4 Dec 2012 02:35:13 +0000 (10:35 +0800)
committerGleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
Tue, 18 Dec 2012 13:15:41 +0000 (15:15 +0200)
commit9b132fbe5419d789f1ef396bed5eb66a365dd1e9
treeb57cb4b1289ceea6f3947ce3d9ee9ab2a362a3fb
parent66cdd0ceaf65a18996f561b770eedde1d123b019
Add rcu user eqs exception hooks for async page fault

This patch adds user eqs exception hooks for async page fault page not
present code path, to exit the user eqs and re-enter it as necessary.

Async page fault is different from other exceptions that it may be
triggered from idle process, so we still need rcu_irq_enter() and
rcu_irq_exit() to exit cpu idle eqs when needed, to protect the code
that needs use rcu.

As Frederic pointed out it would be safest and simplest to protect the
whole kvm_async_pf_task_wait(). Otherwise, "we need to check all the
code there deeply for potential RCU uses and ensure it will never be
extended later to use RCU.".

However, We'd better re-enter the cpu idle eqs if we get the exception
in cpu idle eqs, by calling rcu_irq_exit() before native_safe_halt().

So the patch does what Frederic suggested for rcu_irq_*() API usage
here, except that I moved the rcu_irq_*() pair originally in
do_async_page_fault() into kvm_async_pf_task_wait().

That's because, I think it's better to have rcu_irq_*() pairs to be in
one function ( rcu_irq_exit() after rcu_irq_enter() ), especially here,
kvm_async_pf_task_wait() has other callers, which might cause
rcu_irq_exit() be called without a matching rcu_irq_enter() before it,
which is illegal if the cpu happens to be in rcu idle state.

Signed-off-by: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
arch/x86/kernel/kvm.c