]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
mm: memcg: consolidate hierarchy iteration primitives
authorJohannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:17:48 +0000 (17:17 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:13:04 +0000 (20:13 -0800)
commit9f3a0d0933de079665ec1b498947ffbf805b0018
tree495b27908e328eff16a2269734109b8d6e5be95d
parentab936cbcd02072a34b60d268f94440fd5cf1970b
mm: memcg: consolidate hierarchy iteration primitives

The memcg naturalization series:

Memory control groups are currently bolted onto the side of
traditional memory management in places where better integration would
be preferrable.  To reclaim memory, for example, memory control groups
maintain their own LRU list and reclaim strategy aside from the global
per-zone LRU list reclaim.  But an extra list head for each existing
page frame is expensive and maintaining it requires additional code.

This patchset disables the global per-zone LRU lists on memory cgroup
configurations and converts all its users to operate on the per-memory
cgroup lists instead.  As LRU pages are then exclusively on one list,
this saves two list pointers for each page frame in the system:

page_cgroup array size with 4G physical memory

  vanilla: allocated 31457280 bytes of page_cgroup
  patched: allocated 15728640 bytes of page_cgroup

At the same time, system performance for various workloads is
unaffected:

100G sparse file cat, 4G physical memory, 10 runs, to test for code
bloat in the traditional LRU handling and kswapd & direct reclaim
paths, without/with the memory controller configured in

  vanilla: 71.603(0.207) seconds
  patched: 71.640(0.156) seconds

  vanilla: 79.558(0.288) seconds
  patched: 77.233(0.147) seconds

100G sparse file cat in 1G memory cgroup, 10 runs, to test for code
bloat in the traditional memory cgroup LRU handling and reclaim path

  vanilla: 96.844(0.281) seconds
  patched: 94.454(0.311) seconds

4 unlimited memcgs running kbuild -j32 each, 4G physical memory, 500M
swap on SSD, 10 runs, to test for regressions in kswapd & direct
reclaim using per-memcg LRU lists with multiple memcgs and multiple
allocators within each memcg

  vanilla: 717.722(1.440) seconds [ 69720.100(11600.835) majfaults ]
  patched: 714.106(2.313) seconds [ 71109.300(14886.186) majfaults ]

16 unlimited memcgs running kbuild, 1900M hierarchical limit, 500M
swap on SSD, 10 runs, to test for regressions in hierarchical memcg
setups

  vanilla: 2742.058(1.992) seconds [ 26479.600(1736.737) majfaults ]
  patched: 2743.267(1.214) seconds [ 27240.700(1076.063) majfaults ]

This patch:

There are currently two different implementations of iterating over a
memory cgroup hierarchy tree.

Consolidate them into one worker function and base the convenience
looping-macros on top of it.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp>
Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>
Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memcontrol.c