]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
slab: move FULL state transition to an initcall
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Wed, 20 Jun 2012 20:59:18 +0000 (00:59 +0400)
committerPekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Mon, 2 Jul 2012 10:56:59 +0000 (13:56 +0300)
commita164f89628fa813a2b012ec033625e9e507c29bb
tree5da295dece37926ab5da8d018373a80ab8388bb9
parentd97d476b1bb11e24268a6bac8214f9bc58716b45
slab: move FULL state transition to an initcall

During kmem_cache_init_late(), we transition to the LATE state,
and after some more work, to the FULL state, its last state

This is quite different from slub, that will only transition to
its last state (previously SYSFS), in a (late)initcall, after a lot
more of the kernel is ready.

This means that in slab, we have no way to taking actions dependent
on the initialization of other pieces of the kernel that are supposed
to start way after kmem_init_late(), such as cgroups initialization.

To achieve more consistency in this behavior, that patch only
transitions to the UP state in kmem_init_late. In my analysis,
setup_cpu_cache() should be happy to test for >= UP, instead of
== FULL. It also has passed some tests I've made.

We then only mark FULL state after the reap timers are in place,
meaning that no further setup is expected.

Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Acked-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
mm/slab.c