]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
UBIFS: fix mounting problems after power cuts
authorArtem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Tue, 9 Oct 2012 13:20:15 +0000 (16:20 +0300)
committerArtem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Fri, 26 Oct 2012 13:26:44 +0000 (16:26 +0300)
commita28ad42a4a0c6f302f488f26488b8b37c9b30024
tree7690ccb098298a4b6ace1239b52a9179ee5c2c57
parent98a1eebda3cb2a84ecf1f219bb3a95769033d1bf
UBIFS: fix mounting problems after power cuts

This is a bugfix for a problem with the following symptoms:

1. A power cut happens
2. After reboot, we try to mount UBIFS
3. Mount fails with "No space left on device" error message

UBIFS complains like this:

UBIFS error (pid 28225): grab_empty_leb: could not find an empty LEB

The root cause of this problem is that when we mount, not all LEBs are
categorized. Only those which were read are. However, the
'ubifs_find_free_leb_for_idx()' function assumes that all LEBs were
categorized and 'c->freeable_cnt' is valid, which is a false assumption.

This patch fixes the problem by teaching 'ubifs_find_free_leb_for_idx()'
to always fall back to LPT scanning if no freeable LEBs were found.

This problem was reported by few people in the past, but Brent Taylor
was able to reproduce it and send me a flash image which cannot be mounted,
which made it easy to hunt the bug. Kudos to Brent.

Reported-by: Brent Taylor <motobud@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Artem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
fs/ubifs/find.c