]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
x86/apic: Add separate apic_id_valid() functions for selected apic drivers
authorSteffen Persvold <sp@numascale.com>
Fri, 16 Mar 2012 19:25:35 +0000 (20:25 +0100)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Fri, 23 Mar 2012 12:28:43 +0000 (13:28 +0100)
commitb7157acf429e6aef690646ba964b9ebd25049ec2
tree50e14ff23bde509e429ac9545909c02367a75146
parente335e3eb82dada2765297f6ba501afc7555aba10
x86/apic: Add separate apic_id_valid() functions for selected apic drivers

As suggested by Suresh Siddha and Yinghai Lu:

For x2apic pre-enabled systems, apic driver is set already early
through early_acpi_boot_init()/early_acpi_process_madt()/
acpi_parse_madt()/default_acpi_madt_oem_check() path so that
apic_id_valid() checking will be sufficient during MADT and SRAT
parsing.

For non-x2apic pre-enabled systems, all apic ids should be less
than 255.

This allows us to substitute the checks in
arch/x86/kernel/acpi/boot.c::acpi_parse_x2apic() and
arch/x86/mm/srat.c::acpi_numa_x2apic_affinity_init() with
apic->apic_id_valid().

In addition we can avoid feigning the x2apic cpu feature in the
NumaChip apic code.

The following apic drivers have separate apic_id_valid()
functions which will accept x2apic type IDs :

 x2apic_phys
 x2apic_cluster
 x2apic_uv_x
 apic_numachip

Signed-off-by: Steffen Persvold <sp@numascale.com>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel J Blueman <daniel@numascale-asia.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1331925935-13372-1-git-send-email-sp@numascale.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
arch/x86/include/asm/apic.h
arch/x86/include/asm/x2apic.h
arch/x86/kernel/acpi/boot.c
arch/x86/kernel/apic/apic_numachip.c
arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_cluster.c
arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_phys.c
arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
arch/x86/mm/srat.c