]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
arch/tile: handle CLONE_SETTLS in copy_thread(), not user space
authorChris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Tue, 14 Dec 2010 20:57:49 +0000 (15:57 -0500)
committerChris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Fri, 17 Dec 2010 21:56:50 +0000 (16:56 -0500)
commitbc4cf2bb271b2d557fc510426755da786fc985be
tree25fa4e868d810603da82d1a7c800cf1b0eb0d100
parent5111711d3ed8f4f1012cac3ec3f2b463b549fbfd
arch/tile: handle CLONE_SETTLS in copy_thread(), not user space

Previously we were just setting up the "tp" register in the
new task as started by clone() in libc.  However, this is not
quite right, since in principle a signal might be delivered to
the new task before it had its TLS set up.  (Of course, this race
window still exists for resetting the libc getpid() cached value
in the new task, in principle.  But in any case, we are now doing
this exactly the way all other architectures do it.)

This change is important for 2.6.37 since the tile glibc we will
be submitting upstream will not set TLS in user space any more,
so it will only work on a kernel that has this fix.  It should
also be taken for 2.6.36.x in the stable tree if possible.

Signed-off-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: stable <stable@kernel.org>
arch/tile/kernel/process.c