]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Revert "debug_locks: set oops_in_progress if we will log messages."
authorDave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Mon, 29 Nov 2010 23:15:46 +0000 (09:15 +1000)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 29 Nov 2010 23:18:28 +0000 (15:18 -0800)
commitbcb38ceb225f5d5b2198a2755277cd441ed1e82b
tree2a436b318c56d058bd8f8d24eb1ec85c7268a9ed
parent8f1b1a509658bee2397ddb9937cbfa1b71cdca17
Revert "debug_locks: set oops_in_progress if we will log messages."

This reverts commit e0fdace10e75dac67d906213b780ff1b1a4cc360.

On-list discussion seems to suggest that the robustness fixes for printk
make this unnecessary and DaveM has also agreed in person at Kernel Summit
and on list.

The main problem with this code is once we hit a lockdep splat we always
keep oops_in_progress set, the console layer uses oops_in_progress with KMS
to decide when it should be showing the oops and not showing X, so it causes
problems around suspend/resume time when a userspace resume can cause a console
switch away from X, only if oops_in_progress is set (which is what we want
if an oops actually is in progress, but not because we had a lockdep splat
2 days prior).

Cc: David S Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Signed-off-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
lib/debug_locks.c