]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
mm: compaction: Restart compaction from near where it left off
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Mon, 8 Oct 2012 23:32:45 +0000 (16:32 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 9 Oct 2012 07:22:50 +0000 (16:22 +0900)
commitc89511ab2f8fe2b47585e60da8af7fd213ec877e
treec6b04cb5335957e8409edc77ca23ef012d9d326d
parentbb13ffeb9f6bfeb301443994dfbf29f91117dfb3
mm: compaction: Restart compaction from near where it left off

This is almost entirely based on Rik's previous patches and discussions
with him about how this might be implemented.

Order > 0 compaction stops when enough free pages of the correct page
order have been coalesced.  When doing subsequent higher order
allocations, it is possible for compaction to be invoked many times.

However, the compaction code always starts out looking for things to
compact at the start of the zone, and for free pages to compact things to
at the end of the zone.

This can cause quadratic behaviour, with isolate_freepages starting at the
end of the zone each time, even though previous invocations of the
compaction code already filled up all free memory on that end of the zone.
 This can cause isolate_freepages to take enormous amounts of CPU with
certain workloads on larger memory systems.

This patch caches where the migration and free scanner should start from
on subsequent compaction invocations using the pageblock-skip information.
 When compaction starts it begins from the cached restart points and will
update the cached restart points until a page is isolated or a pageblock
is skipped that would have been scanned by synchronous compaction.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Davies <richard@arachsys.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@kernel.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>
Cc: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/mmzone.h
mm/compaction.c
mm/internal.h