]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
slab: Ignore internal flags in cache creation
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Wed, 17 Oct 2012 11:36:51 +0000 (15:36 +0400)
committerPekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Wed, 31 Oct 2012 07:13:01 +0000 (09:13 +0200)
commitd8843922fba49e887874aa1f9e748d620c5092af
tree9992cb8d37d31368c06c7de3bd6edbe2a8a8a412
parent8cf9864b1382851d90c7c505f8441c8928f1469e
slab: Ignore internal flags in cache creation

Some flags are used internally by the allocators for management
purposes. One example of that is the CFLGS_OFF_SLAB flag that slab uses
to mark that the metadata for that cache is stored outside of the slab.

No cache should ever pass those as a creation flags. We can just ignore
this bit if it happens to be passed (such as when duplicating a cache in
the kmem memcg patches).

Because such flags can vary from allocator to allocator, we allow them
to make their own decisions on that, defining SLAB_AVAILABLE_FLAGS with
all flags that are valid at creation time.  Allocators that doesn't have
any specific flag requirement should define that to mean all flags.

Common code will mask out all flags not belonging to that set.

Acked-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Signed-off-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
mm/slab.c
mm/slab.h
mm/slab_common.c
mm/slub.c