]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
Memory controller: make charging gfp mask aware
authorBalbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Thu, 7 Feb 2008 08:14:02 +0000 (00:14 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 7 Feb 2008 16:42:19 +0000 (08:42 -0800)
commite1a1cd590e3fcb0d2e230128daf2337ea55387dc
treeeb660ab340c657a1eb595b2d4d8e8b62783bf6fb
parentbed7161a519a2faef53e1bce1b47595e297c1d14
Memory controller: make charging gfp mask aware

Nick Piggin pointed out that swap cache and page cache addition routines
could be called from non GFP_KERNEL contexts.  This patch makes the
charging routine aware of the gfp context.  Charging might fail if the
cgroup is over it's limit, in which case a suitable error is returned.

This patch was tested on a Powerpc box.  I am still looking at being able
to test the path, through which allocations happen in non GFP_KERNEL
contexts.

[kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com: problem with ZONE_MOVABLE]
Signed-off-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelianov <xemul@openvz.org>
Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru>
Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Vaidyanathan Srinivasan <svaidy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/memcontrol.h
include/linux/swap.h
mm/filemap.c
mm/memcontrol.c
mm/memory.c
mm/migrate.c
mm/swap_state.c
mm/swapfile.c
mm/vmscan.c