]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
pagemap: set pagemap walk limit to PMD boundary
authorNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Wed, 24 Nov 2010 20:57:13 +0000 (12:57 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 24 Nov 2010 21:50:46 +0000 (06:50 +0900)
commitea251c1d5c481cda1cf6b0c9e4965f04a6cf2ffc
tree989753f439461fb333432761b8bf39d408572c62
parent5f0af70a25593a9d53b87bc8d31902fb7cc63e40
pagemap: set pagemap walk limit to PMD boundary

Currently one pagemap_read() call walks in PAGEMAP_WALK_SIZE bytes (== 512
pages.) But there is a corner case where walk_pmd_range() accidentally
runs over a VMA associated with a hugetlbfs file.

For example, when a process has mappings to VMAs as shown below:

  # cat /proc/<pid>/maps
  ...
  3a58f6d000-3a58f72000 rw-p 00000000 00:00 0
  7fbd51853000-7fbd51855000 rw-p 00000000 00:00 0
  7fbd5186c000-7fbd5186e000 rw-p 00000000 00:00 0
  7fbd51a00000-7fbd51c00000 rw-s 00000000 00:12 8614   /hugepages/test

then pagemap_read() goes into walk_pmd_range() path and walks in the range
0x7fbd51853000-0x7fbd51a53000, but the hugetlbfs VMA should be handled by
walk_hugetlb_range().  Otherwise PMD for the hugepage is considered bad
and cleared, which causes undesirable results.

This patch fixes it by separating pagemap walk range into one PMD.

Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Jun'ichi Nomura <j-nomura@ce.jp.nec.com>
Acked-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/proc/task_mmu.c