]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
get_maintainers.pl: follow renames when looking up commit signers
authorIan Campbell <Ian.Campbell@citrix.com>
Tue, 10 Jan 2012 23:08:41 +0000 (15:08 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 11 Jan 2012 00:30:46 +0000 (16:30 -0800)
commited128fea3bcbce728c9c81b2e45ec3921911bfb6
tree994226e0688d7522e403fe749a3d125d4acccd1d
parentdb1aecafef58b5dda39c4228debe2c845e4a27ab
get_maintainers.pl: follow renames when looking up commit signers

I happen to have had a commit to various network drivers since the big
renaming/reorg which happened to drivers/net recently.  This means that I
now appear to be in the top few commit signers (by %age) for many of them
so am getting sent all sorts of stuff and people who are involved with the
driver are not.  e.g.  (to pick one at random):

        $ ./scripts/get_maintainer.pl -f drivers/net/ethernet/nvidia/forcedeth.c
        "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> (commit_signer:5/7=71%)
        Ian Campbell <ian.campbell@citrix.com> (commit_signer:2/7=29%)
        Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> (commit_signer:1/7=14%)
        Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com> (commit_signer:1/7=14%)
        Jiri Pirko <jpirko@redhat.com> (commit_signer:1/7=14%)
        netdev@vger.kernel.org (open list:NETWORKING DRIVERS)
        linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org (open list)

With the following patch the renames are followed and the result appears
much more sensible:

        $ ./scripts/get_maintainer.pl -f drivers/net/ethernet/nvidia/forcedeth.c
        "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> (commit_signer:31/34=91%)
        Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> (commit_signer:11/34=32%)
        Szymon Janc <szymon@janc.net.pl> (commit_signer:5/34=15%)
        Jiri Pirko <jpirko@redhat.com> (commit_signer:3/34=9%)
        Paul <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> (commit_signer:2/34=6%)
        netdev@vger.kernel.org (open list:NETWORKING DRIVERS)
        linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org (open list)

Signed-off-by: Ian Campbell <Ian.Campbell@citrix.com>
Acked-by: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
scripts/get_maintainer.pl