]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commit
resources: add arch hook for preventing allocation in reserved areas
authorBjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
Thu, 16 Dec 2010 17:38:46 +0000 (10:38 -0700)
committerJesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
Fri, 17 Dec 2010 18:01:09 +0000 (10:01 -0800)
commitfcb119183c73bf0781009713f303e28b1fb13d3e
tree94d739189963cecafae1b497845eb1e856558e49
parentc0f5ac5426f7fd82b23dd5c6a1e633b290294a08
resources: add arch hook for preventing allocation in reserved areas

This adds arch_remove_reservations(), which an arch can implement if it
needs to protect part of the address space from allocation.

Sometimes that can be done by just putting a region in the resource tree,
but there are cases where that doesn't work well.  For example, x86 BIOS
E820 reservations are not related to devices, so they may overlap part of,
all of, or more than a device resource, so they may not end up at the
correct spot in the resource tree.

Acked-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
include/linux/ioport.h
kernel/resource.c