]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
hwmon: (coretemp) fix reading of microcode revision (v2)
authorJan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Fri, 8 Oct 2010 08:59:38 +0000 (04:59 -0400)
committerGuenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>
Mon, 25 Oct 2010 21:11:21 +0000 (14:11 -0700)
According to the documentation, simply reading the respective MSR
isn't sufficient: It should be written with zeros, cpuid(1) be
executed, and then read (see arch/x86/kernel/cpu/intel.c for an
example).

v2: Fail probe when microcode revision cannot be determined, but is
needed to check for proper operation.

Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Chen Gong <gong.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>
Acked-by: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>

No differences found