]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
pid-namespace: limit value of ns_last_pid to (0, max_pid)
authorAndrew Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Mon, 17 Sep 2012 21:09:12 +0000 (14:09 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 17 Sep 2012 22:00:38 +0000 (15:00 -0700)
The kernel doesn't check the pid for negative values, so if you try to
write -2 to /proc/sys/kernel/ns_last_pid, you will get a kernel panic.

The crash happens because the next pid is -1, and alloc_pidmap() will
try to access to a nonexistent pidmap.

  map = &pid_ns->pidmap[pid/BITS_PER_PAGE];

Signed-off-by: Andrew Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Acked-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Acked-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@parallels.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
kernel/pid_namespace.c

index b3c7fd5542500ab13940814211692bbe3b7ef8d3..6144bab8fd8eeed14327c116bea39ba0061cbdb5 100644 (file)
@@ -232,15 +232,19 @@ static int pid_ns_ctl_handler(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
         */
 
        tmp.data = &current->nsproxy->pid_ns->last_pid;
-       return proc_dointvec(&tmp, write, buffer, lenp, ppos);
+       return proc_dointvec_minmax(&tmp, write, buffer, lenp, ppos);
 }
 
+extern int pid_max;
+static int zero = 0;
 static struct ctl_table pid_ns_ctl_table[] = {
        {
                .procname = "ns_last_pid",
                .maxlen = sizeof(int),
                .mode = 0666, /* permissions are checked in the handler */
                .proc_handler = pid_ns_ctl_handler,
+               .extra1 = &zero,
+               .extra2 = &pid_max,
        },
        { }
 };