]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
NFS4: avoid underflow when converting error to pointer.
authorNeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
Mon, 17 Sep 2012 06:46:34 +0000 (16:46 +1000)
committerTrond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Tue, 25 Sep 2012 14:38:54 +0000 (10:38 -0400)
In nfs4_create_sec_client, 'flavor' can hold a negative error
code (returned from nfs4_negotiate_security), even though it
is an 'enum' and hence unsigned.

The code is careful to cast it to an (int) before testing if it
is negative, however it doesn't cast to an (int) before calling
ERR_PTR.

On a machine where "void*" is larger than "int", this results in
the unsigned equivalent of -1 (e.g. 0xffffffff) being converted
to a pointer.  Subsequent code determines that this is not
negative, and so  dereferences it with predictable results.

So: cast 'flavor' to a (signed) int before passing to ERR_PTR.

cc: Benny Halevy <bhalevy@tonian.com>
Signed-off-by: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
fs/nfs/nfs4namespace.c

index 398d5fd741575db80757a00244fa307728c6c3ee..4fdeb1b7042eb94378f7448275d4ee4ef4ec13bc 100644 (file)
@@ -198,7 +198,7 @@ struct rpc_clnt *nfs4_create_sec_client(struct rpc_clnt *clnt, struct inode *ino
 
        flavor = nfs4_negotiate_security(inode, name);
        if ((int)flavor < 0)
-               return ERR_PTR(flavor);
+               return ERR_PTR((int)flavor);
 
        clone = rpc_clone_client(clnt);
        if (IS_ERR(clone))