ath9k_hw: warn if we cannot change the power to the chip
authorLuis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
Tue, 7 Dec 2010 23:13:23 +0000 (15:13 -0800)
committerJohn W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Wed, 8 Dec 2010 20:38:46 +0000 (15:38 -0500)
Suspend requires the device to be in fullsleep otherwise upon
resume the device becomes unresponsive. We need to ensure
that when we want the device to go to sleep it yields to
the request, otherwise we'll have a useless devices upon
resume. Warn when changing the power fails as we need
to look into these issues.

Cc: Paul Stewart <pstew@google.com>
Cc: Amod Bodas <amod.bodas@atheros.com>
Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
Signed-off-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/hw.c

index 9f4398c88c857d24f585decaeb497cab5502eef5..516227fa668e39db5d67a9903ba3f63ab11c62c2 100644 (file)
@@ -1608,6 +1608,13 @@ bool ath9k_hw_setpower(struct ath_hw *ah, enum ath9k_power_mode mode)
        }
        ah->power_mode = mode;
 
        }
        ah->power_mode = mode;
 
+       /*
+        * XXX: If this warning never comes up after a while then
+        * simply keep the ATH_DBG_WARN_ON_ONCE() but make
+        * ath9k_hw_setpower() return type void.
+        */
+       ATH_DBG_WARN_ON_ONCE(!status);
+
        return status;
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(ath9k_hw_setpower);
        return status;
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(ath9k_hw_setpower);