ksz884x: don't copy too much in netdev_set_mac_address()
authorDan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Thu, 19 Apr 2012 07:00:19 +0000 (10:00 +0300)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Thu, 19 Apr 2012 17:25:03 +0000 (13:25 -0400)
MAX_ADDR_LEN is 32.  ETH_ALEN is 6.  mac->sa_data is a 14 byte array, so
the memcpy() is doing a read past the end of the array.  I asked about
this on netdev and Ben Hutchings told me it's supposed to be copying
ETH_ALEN bytes (thanks Ben).

Signed-off-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
drivers/net/ethernet/micrel/ksz884x.c

index ef723b185d853794746a3882cf54e4c00a205699..eaf9ff0262a9c63594e7d80c617d87098c957fa6 100644 (file)
@@ -5675,7 +5675,7 @@ static int netdev_set_mac_address(struct net_device *dev, void *addr)
                memcpy(hw->override_addr, mac->sa_data, ETH_ALEN);
        }
 
                memcpy(hw->override_addr, mac->sa_data, ETH_ALEN);
        }
 
-       memcpy(dev->dev_addr, mac->sa_data, MAX_ADDR_LEN);
+       memcpy(dev->dev_addr, mac->sa_data, ETH_ALEN);
 
        interrupt = hw_block_intr(hw);
 
 
        interrupt = hw_block_intr(hw);