]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
localmodconfig: Document localmodconfig in README
authorSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Fri, 5 Oct 2012 20:52:50 +0000 (16:52 -0400)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sun, 7 Oct 2012 22:55:25 +0000 (07:55 +0900)
Someone (over a year ago :-p) asked me to document localmodconfig in the
README file in the source code.  I thought it was a good idea but other
things were more important and I simply forgot about it.  Well, I
stumbled on the email asking me about this and I'm sending it out now.

Signed-off-by: Steven "Mr. Procrastinator" Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
README

diff --git a/README b/README
index 9beaed0ed620b31495a89c79fd12f7f926f7d902..f32710a817fc392262f5f890cb637e5e0b1b5d1a 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -206,6 +206,24 @@ CONFIGURING the kernel:
      "make randconfig"  Create a ./.config file by setting symbol
                         values to random values.
 
+     "make localmodconfig" Create a config based on current config and
+                           loaded modules (lsmod). Disables any module
+                           option that is not needed for the loaded modules.
+
+                           To create a localmodconfig for another machine,
+                           store the lsmod of that machine into a file
+                           and pass it in as a LSMOD parameter.
+
+                   target$ lsmod > /tmp/mylsmod
+                   target$ scp /tmp/mylsmod host:/tmp
+
+                   host$ make LSMOD=/tmp/mylsmod localmodconfig
+
+                           The above also works when cross compiling.
+
+     "make localyesconfig" Similar to localmodconfig, except it will convert
+                           all module options to built in (=y) options.
+
    You can find more information on using the Linux kernel config tools
    in Documentation/kbuild/kconfig.txt.