]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
pty: fix data loss when stopped (^S/^Q)
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 10 Aug 2009 20:21:19 +0000 (13:21 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 10 Aug 2009 20:31:18 +0000 (13:31 -0700)
Commit d945cb9cc ("pty: Rework the pty layer to use the normal buffering
logic") dropped the test for 'tty->stopped' in pty_write_room(), which
then causes the n_tty line discipline thing to not throttle the data
properly when the tty is stopped.

So instead of pausing the write due to the tty being stopped, the ldisc
layer would go ahead and push it down to the pty.  The pty write()
routine would then refuse to take the data (because it _did_ check
'stopped'), and the data wouldn't actually be written.

This whole stopped test should eventually be moved into the tty ldisc
layer rather than have low-level tty drivers care about these things,
but right now the fix is to just re-instate the missing pty 'stopped'
handling.

Reported-and-tested-by: Artur Skawina <art.08.09@gmail.com>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/char/pty.c

index 6e6942c45f5b6cb76d6c1aaf91ed96fee9185ae7..d083c73d784a76a34500c26cc582f3d68770be72 100644 (file)
@@ -144,6 +144,8 @@ static int pty_write(struct tty_struct *tty, const unsigned char *buf,
 
 static int pty_write_room(struct tty_struct *tty)
 {
+       if (tty->stopped)
+               return 0;
        return pty_space(tty->link);
 }