]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
nommu: fix error handling in do_mmap_pgoff()
authorDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Sat, 5 Sep 2009 18:17:07 +0000 (11:17 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sat, 5 Sep 2009 18:30:42 +0000 (11:30 -0700)
Fix the error handling in do_mmap_pgoff().  If do_mmap_shared_file() or
do_mmap_private() fail, we jump to the error_put_region label at which
point we cann __put_nommu_region() on the region - but we haven't yet
added the region to the tree, and so __put_nommu_region() may BUG
because the region tree is empty or it may corrupt the region tree.

To get around this, we can afford to add the region to the region tree
before calling do_mmap_shared_file() or do_mmap_private() as we keep
nommu_region_sem write-locked, so no-one can race with us by seeing a
transient region.

Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Acked-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Acked-by: Greg Ungerer <gerg@snapgear.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/nommu.c

index 4bde489ec4316ca41046f5826f3a57565755d90d..66e81e7e9fe98f6871cb0d159e13c6942ff8e44f 100644 (file)
@@ -1352,6 +1352,7 @@ unsigned long do_mmap_pgoff(struct file *file,
        }
 
        vma->vm_region = region;
+       add_nommu_region(region);
 
        /* set up the mapping */
        if (file && vma->vm_flags & VM_SHARED)
@@ -1361,8 +1362,6 @@ unsigned long do_mmap_pgoff(struct file *file,
        if (ret < 0)
                goto error_put_region;
 
-       add_nommu_region(region);
-
        /* okay... we have a mapping; now we have to register it */
        result = vma->vm_start;