]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
sendfile: allows bypassing of notifier events
authorScott Wolchok <swolchok@umich.edu>
Thu, 20 Dec 2012 23:05:52 +0000 (15:05 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 21 Dec 2012 01:40:21 +0000 (17:40 -0800)
do_sendfile() in fs/read_write.c does not call the fsnotify functions,
unlike its neighbors.  This manifests as a lack of inotify ACCESS events
when a file is sent using sendfile(2).

Addresses
  https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12812

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: use fsnotify_modify(out.file), not fsnotify_access(), per Dave]
Signed-off-by: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Scott Wolchok <swolchok@umich.edu>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/read_write.c

index 1edaf099ddd7f28d6dbeb41298269252773ecfa9..bb34af315280328acedfd4122829b3c8125d8a6f 100644 (file)
@@ -935,6 +935,8 @@ ssize_t do_sendfile(int out_fd, int in_fd, loff_t *ppos, size_t count,
        if (retval > 0) {
                add_rchar(current, retval);
                add_wchar(current, retval);
+               fsnotify_access(in.file);
+               fsnotify_modify(out.file);
        }
 
        inc_syscr(current);