tty vt: fix character insertion overflow
authorNicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>
Mon, 25 Feb 2013 01:06:09 +0000 (20:06 -0500)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 25 Feb 2013 01:29:49 +0000 (17:29 -0800)
Commit 81732c3b2fed ("tty vt: Fix line garbage in virtual console on
command line edition") broke insert_char() in multiple ways.  Then
commit b1a925f44a3a ("tty vt: Fix a regression in command line edition")
partially fixed it.  However, the buffer being moved is still too large
and overflowing beyond the end of the current line, corrupting existing
characters on the next line.

Example test case:

echo -e "abc\nde\x1b[A\x1b[4h \x1b[4l\x1b[B"

Expected result:

ab c
de

Current result:

ab c
 e

Needless to say that this is very annoying when inserting words in the
middle of paragraphs with certain text editors.

Signed-off-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@linaro.org>
Cc: Jean-Fran├žois Moine <moinejf@free.fr>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/tty/vt/vt.c

index 1a27280..6c4abea 100644 (file)
@@ -539,7 +539,7 @@ static void insert_char(struct vc_data *vc, unsigned int nr)
 {
        unsigned short *p = (unsigned short *) vc->vc_pos;
 
 {
        unsigned short *p = (unsigned short *) vc->vc_pos;
 
-       scr_memmovew(p + nr, p, (vc->vc_cols - vc->vc_x) * 2);
+       scr_memmovew(p + nr, p, (vc->vc_cols - vc->vc_x - nr) * 2);
        scr_memsetw(p, vc->vc_video_erase_char, nr * 2);
        vc->vc_need_wrap = 0;
        if (DO_UPDATE(vc))
        scr_memsetw(p, vc->vc_video_erase_char, nr * 2);
        vc->vc_need_wrap = 0;
        if (DO_UPDATE(vc))