]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
inotify: do not send a block of zeros when no pathname is available
authorBrian Rogers <brian@xyzw.org>
Fri, 28 Aug 2009 14:00:05 +0000 (10:00 -0400)
committerEric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Fri, 28 Aug 2009 14:03:06 +0000 (10:03 -0400)
When an event has no pathname, there's no need to pad it with a null byte and
therefore generate an inotify_event sized block of zeros. This fixes a
regression introduced by commit 0db501bd0610ee0c0aca84d927f90bcccd09e2bd where
my system wouldn't finish booting because some process was being confused by
this.

Signed-off-by: Brian Rogers <brian@xyzw.org>
Signed-off-by: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
fs/notify/inotify/inotify_user.c

index 0e781bc88d1ecf18f3c16598b8e55ee8e1274288..b547ae17b46124db884913bf94bb534d1048f18c 100644 (file)
@@ -180,7 +180,7 @@ static ssize_t copy_event_to_user(struct fsnotify_group *group,
        struct fsnotify_event_private_data *fsn_priv;
        struct inotify_event_private_data *priv;
        size_t event_size = sizeof(struct inotify_event);
-       size_t name_len;
+       size_t name_len = 0;
 
        /* we get the inotify watch descriptor from the event private data */
        spin_lock(&event->lock);
@@ -196,10 +196,12 @@ static ssize_t copy_event_to_user(struct fsnotify_group *group,
                inotify_free_event_priv(fsn_priv);
        }
 
-       /* round up event->name_len so it is a multiple of event_size
+       /*
+        * round up event->name_len so it is a multiple of event_size
         * plus an extra byte for the terminating '\0'.
         */
-       name_len = roundup(event->name_len + 1, event_size);
+       if (event->name_len)
+               name_len = roundup(event->name_len + 1, event_size);
        inotify_event.len = name_len;
 
        inotify_event.mask = inotify_mask_to_arg(event->mask);