]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
EDAC: Fix workqueue-related crashes
authorBorislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com>
Thu, 2 Dec 2010 16:48:35 +0000 (17:48 +0100)
committerBorislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com>
Wed, 8 Dec 2010 18:52:27 +0000 (19:52 +0100)
00740c58541b6087d78418cebca1fcb86dc6077d changed edac_core to
un-/register a workqueue item only if a lowlevel driver supplies a
polling routine. Normally, when we remove a polling low-level driver, we
go and cancel all the queued work. However, the workqueue unreg happens
based on the ->op_state setting, and edac_mc_del_mc() sets this to
OP_OFFLINE _before_ we cancel the work item, leading to NULL ptr oops on
the workqueue list.

Fix it by putting the unreg stuff in proper order.

Cc: <stable@kernel.org> #36.x
Reported-and-tested-by: Tobias Karnat <tobias.karnat@googlemail.com>
LKML-Reference: <1291201307.3029.21.camel@Tobias-Karnat>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com>
drivers/edac/edac_mc.c

index ba6586a69ccce3b000fb22ee21512ab4673b44ac..795ea69c4d8f5fb6149c62fba8e085bd83363309 100644 (file)
@@ -586,14 +586,16 @@ struct mem_ctl_info *edac_mc_del_mc(struct device *dev)
                return NULL;
        }
 
-       /* marking MCI offline */
-       mci->op_state = OP_OFFLINE;
-
        del_mc_from_global_list(mci);
        mutex_unlock(&mem_ctls_mutex);
 
-       /* flush workq processes and remove sysfs */
+       /* flush workq processes */
        edac_mc_workq_teardown(mci);
+
+       /* marking MCI offline */
+       mci->op_state = OP_OFFLINE;
+
+       /* remove from sysfs */
        edac_remove_sysfs_mci_device(mci);
 
        edac_printk(KERN_INFO, EDAC_MC,