]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
Revert "debug_locks: set oops_in_progress if we will log messages."
authorDave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Mon, 29 Nov 2010 23:15:46 +0000 (09:15 +1000)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 29 Nov 2010 23:18:28 +0000 (15:18 -0800)
This reverts commit e0fdace10e75dac67d906213b780ff1b1a4cc360.

On-list discussion seems to suggest that the robustness fixes for printk
make this unnecessary and DaveM has also agreed in person at Kernel Summit
and on list.

The main problem with this code is once we hit a lockdep splat we always
keep oops_in_progress set, the console layer uses oops_in_progress with KMS
to decide when it should be showing the oops and not showing X, so it causes
problems around suspend/resume time when a userspace resume can cause a console
switch away from X, only if oops_in_progress is set (which is what we want
if an oops actually is in progress, but not because we had a lockdep splat
2 days prior).

Cc: David S Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Signed-off-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
lib/debug_locks.c

index 5bf0020b9248801236d1a1ca7a3233e1bf2b2bb7..b1c17730767745f81d9990effd5078cdc769dc08 100644 (file)
@@ -8,7 +8,6 @@
  *
  *  Copyright (C) 2006 Red Hat, Inc., Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
  */
-#include <linux/kernel.h>
 #include <linux/rwsem.h>
 #include <linux/mutex.h>
 #include <linux/module.h>
@@ -39,7 +38,6 @@ int debug_locks_off(void)
 {
        if (__debug_locks_off()) {
                if (!debug_locks_silent) {
-                       oops_in_progress = 1;
                        console_verbose();
                        return 1;
                }