]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
x86: Use -mno-avx when available
authorAndi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 28 Mar 2012 18:51:17 +0000 (11:51 -0700)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Fri, 30 Mar 2012 17:06:39 +0000 (10:06 -0700)
On gccs that support AVX it's a good idea to disable that too, similar to
how SSE2, SSE1 etc. are already disabled. This prevents the compiler
from generating AVX ever implicitely.

No failure observed, just from review.

[ hpa: Marking this for urgent and stable, simply because the patch
  will either have absolutely no effect *or* it will avoid potentially
  very hard to debug failures. ]

Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1332960678-11879-1-git-send-email-andi@firstfloor.org
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
arch/x86/Makefile

index 968dbe24a255453bb3bb3768cd76f2f72b424bcc..41a7237606a3b3a26393b0c7844166d728a9ed0a 100644 (file)
@@ -129,6 +129,7 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS += -Wno-sign-compare
 KBUILD_CFLAGS += -fno-asynchronous-unwind-tables
 # prevent gcc from generating any FP code by mistake
 KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-mno-sse -mno-mmx -mno-sse2 -mno-3dnow,)
+KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-mno-avx,)
 
 KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(mflags-y)
 KBUILD_AFLAGS += $(mflags-y)