]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
memory_hotplug: fix possible incorrect node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY]
authorLai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:01:03 +0000 (16:01 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:22:23 +0000 (17:22 -0800)
Currently memory_hotplug only manages the node_states[N_HIGH_MEMORY], it
forgets to manage node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY].  This may cause
node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] to become incorrect.

Example, if a node is empty before online, and we online a memory which is
in ZONE_NORMAL.  And after online, node_states[N_HIGH_MEMORY] is correct,
but node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] is incorrect, the online code doesn't set
the new online node to node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY].

The same thing will happen when offlining (the offline code doesn't clear
the node from node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] when needed).  Some memory
managment code depends node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY], so we have to fix up
the node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY].

We add node_states_check_changes_online() and
node_states_check_changes_offline() to detect whether
node_states[N_HIGH_MEMORY] and node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] are changed
while hotpluging.

Also add @status_change_nid_normal to struct memory_notify, thus the
memory hotplug callbacks know whether the node_states[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] are
changed.  (We can add a @flags and reuse @status_change_nid instead of
introducing @status_change_nid_normal, but it will add much more
complexity in memory hotplug callback in every subsystem.  So introducing
@status_change_nid_normal is better and it doesn't change the sematics of
@status_change_nid)

Signed-off-by: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Rob Landley <rob@landley.net>
Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Wen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

No differences found