]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
ALSA: hda - Disable AMD SB600 64bit address support only
authorAndiry Brienza <andiry.xu@amd.com>
Wed, 8 Jul 2009 05:55:31 +0000 (13:55 +0800)
committerTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Wed, 8 Jul 2009 06:01:47 +0000 (08:01 +0200)
HDA driver disabled HD audio 64bit address support for all AMD
SB600/SB700/SB800 platforms with commit
09240cf429505891d6123ce14a29f58f2a60121e due to one SB600 issue
reported by community, but we do not see the similar issue on
SB700/SB800 platforms.
This patch is to refine the workaround for SB600 only.

Signed-off-by: Andiry Xu <andiry.xu@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
sound/pci/hda/hda_intel.c

index 16e09d7405729a646575a0f7d595d4bb8707650e..77c1b840ca8b081839bc9c5baad859d0cb8a8596 100644 (file)
@@ -2333,9 +2333,19 @@ static int __devinit azx_create(struct snd_card *card, struct pci_dev *pci,
        gcap = azx_readw(chip, GCAP);
        snd_printdd(SFX "chipset global capabilities = 0x%x\n", gcap);
 
-       /* ATI chips seems buggy about 64bit DMA addresses */
-       if (chip->driver_type == AZX_DRIVER_ATI)
-               gcap &= ~ICH6_GCAP_64OK;
+       /* disable SB600 64bit support for safety */
+       if ((chip->driver_type == AZX_DRIVER_ATI) ||
+           (chip->driver_type == AZX_DRIVER_ATIHDMI)) {
+               struct pci_dev *p_smbus;
+               p_smbus = pci_get_device(PCI_VENDOR_ID_ATI,
+                                        PCI_DEVICE_ID_ATI_SBX00_SMBUS,
+                                        NULL);
+               if (p_smbus) {
+                       if (p_smbus->revision < 0x30)
+                               gcap &= ~ICH6_GCAP_64OK;
+                       pci_dev_put(p_smbus);
+               }
+       }
 
        /* allow 64bit DMA address if supported by H/W */
        if ((gcap & ICH6_GCAP_64OK) && !pci_set_dma_mask(pci, DMA_BIT_MASK(64)))