]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
ACPI: don't free non-existent backlight in acpi video module
authorKeith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Thu, 6 Aug 2009 22:57:54 +0000 (15:57 -0700)
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Fri, 28 Aug 2009 19:17:07 +0000 (15:17 -0400)
acpi_video_put_one_device was attempting to remove sysfs entries and
unregister a backlight device without first checking that said backlight
device structure had been created.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Acked-by: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
drivers/acpi/video.c

index 8851315ce858a2e2eb1e4ffd2d2b6b695fa8bfb8..60ea984c84a02c651b606d6d42aa4b3610c21882 100644 (file)
@@ -2004,8 +2004,11 @@ static int acpi_video_bus_put_one_device(struct acpi_video_device *device)
        status = acpi_remove_notify_handler(device->dev->handle,
                                            ACPI_DEVICE_NOTIFY,
                                            acpi_video_device_notify);
-       sysfs_remove_link(&device->backlight->dev.kobj, "device");
-       backlight_device_unregister(device->backlight);
+       if (device->backlight) {
+               sysfs_remove_link(&device->backlight->dev.kobj, "device");
+               backlight_device_unregister(device->backlight);
+               device->backlight = NULL;
+       }
        if (device->cdev) {
                sysfs_remove_link(&device->dev->dev.kobj,
                                  "thermal_cooling");